Map Management
The
Map Management page allows the user to do
the following actions:
- Map alignement: align a device map to floor plans to ensure the map is in a global reference frame that is shared across the fleet and other system in the facility.
- Share maps: ability to download a map locally and upload it to a set of devices.
- Delete maps: ability to delete a map that is no longer in use.
- Manage map updates: ability to reset the map updates on the device if required - please always follow Slamcore support direct recommendation.

Map Management pageMap Sharing
Maps can be easily shared between the devices. The map can be downloaded from one device and uploaded to another device to share the map across the fleet.
After selecting a map, click ACTIONS and under BASE MAP click
DOWNLOAD to download the map to your local machine. The downloaded
map file is named <Map_Name>.session.
This map file can now be uploaded to another device manually to share the map across the fleet.
The map file that is downloaded and shared with other vehicles is the base map generated during the initial mapping run only, which will not include any of the automatic map updates. The other vehicle will then build its own map updates on this base map during daily live operation.
On the web interface for the second device, from the top right of the
Map Management page, click UPLOAD NEW MAP
and select the <Map_Name>.session from your laptop.
After a map upload completes, the web interface asks whether to set the
newly uploaded map as the default map for Localisation on Boot. If you
accept, the device will enable Start Localisation on Boot and set
Map to use to the uploaded map. You can also change this later from
Settings > Positioning >
Localisation.
It is recommended to only share a map between vehicles of the same or similar vehicle class (with similar camera positioning) that are operating in the same facility. For more details, please see the Mapping section.
Map Deletion
If you wish to remove a map from the device completely to free up
storage or because it is no longer relevant, select the map, click
ACTIONS and under BASE MAP and click DELETE.
It will not be possible to recover a deleted map unless you have downloaded it prior to deleting it.
If you simply want to remove the floor plan being used for alignment,
click the
icon next to the floor plan name. After
this, you may upload a new floor plan.
Map Updates Management
The Automatic Map Updates that are added by the system to the base map can be downloaded for troubleshooting purposes or deleted if resetting the map to its initial state is desired.
Download Map Updates
The map updates can be downloaded to share with Slamcore for troubleshooting purposes.
With a map selected, click ACTIONS and under AUTOMATIC MAP UPDATES
select the DOWNLOAD button. A map update file named
<Map_Name>.transient.session will be downloaded to your laptop.
Discard Map Updates
In the event of any map degradation that has affected the localisation performance, users may restore the map to its original state using the DISCARD UPDATES button.
With a map selected, click ACTIONS and under AUTOMATIC MAP UPDATES
select the DISCARD button. A pop-up notification will appear
requesting confirmation for the deletion as this will permanently reset
the map to initial state.
The automatic map updates are intended to keep the map updated in dynamic environments, and should only be discarded in the rare case where a degradation occurs.
During this discard process, the map alignment and origin settings will not be affected or removed from the map file.